skip to Main Content

European Open Compute Project (OCP) Experience Center

We help IT and data center managers to fully understand the impact of OCP designs on their facilities

The Open Compute Project (OCP) is a collaborative community which focuses on redesigning hardware technology to efficiently implement growing requirements for the infrastructure of data centers. Since July 2019, the first European Open Compute Project (OCP) Experience Center has been located within the maincubes AMS01 data center in Amsterdam. The fully-functional OCP environment is available at maincubes’ site as a demo facility, however, it can also function for testing new OCP Accepted™ and OCP Inspired™ datacenter environments and telco solutions that are relevant to certain IT environments.  The center is open to visitors and prospects at any time.

The European OCP Experience Center was originally founded by Circle B, an OCP Solutions Provider®, and Rittal, a manufacturer of infrastructure solutions for data centers. As part of this partnership, maincubes offers the fully functional OCP environment. While Circle B takes on the role of a supplier, Rittal is responsible for further hardware developments.

Vimeo

By loading the video, you agree to Vimeos's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

CIRCLE B Logo
RITTAL Logo
maincubes logo

“The European OCP Experience Center has played an important role in the adoption of OCP inspired data center designs in the European region,” states Steve Helvie, VP of Channel for the Open Compute Project Foundation. “I am happy to see that Rittal and Circle B have decided to partner with an important and independent European data center provider like maincubes. And I am very excited that those three companies will continue to drive the growth of OCP in the European region.”

OCP History

In 2009, Facebook launched a project to redesign data centers due to the significant increase in users and the corresponding growth in data. A small team of engineers spent the next two years designing and building a new generation of data centers. They managed to keep the costs in relation to the size of a data center as low as possible: The construction was 38 percent more energy-efficient and its operation was 24 percent cheaper than the company’s previous facilities. The result can now be found in Prineville, Oregon.

In 2011, Facebook made its designs available to the public and, together with Intel, Rackspace, Goldman Sachs and Andy Bechtolsheim, they founded the Open Compute Project in combination with the Open Compute Project Foundation. The five founding members wanted to create a movement that would generate the same kind of creativity and collaboration in hardware as it did in open source software. By now the established OCP principles speak for themselves.

If you are interested to find out what the impact of OCP designs can be for your organization, please register to visit the OCP Experience Center:

what is the open compute-project poster

©opencompute.org

Back To Top
×Close search
Search

Überspringen zu Hauptinhalt

European Open Compute Project (OCP) Experience Center

Wir unterstützen IT- und Rechenzentrumsmanager dabei, die Auswirkungen von OCP-Designs auf ihre Anlagen zu verstehen

Das Open Compute Project (OCP) besteht aus einer kollaborativen Community, die sich auf die Neugestaltung von Hardwaretechnologie konzentriert, um die wachsenden Anforderungen an die Infrastruktur von Rechenzentren effizient zu realisieren. Das erste European Open Compute Project (OCP) Experience Center befindet sich seit Juli 2019 im Amsterdamer Rechenzentrum (AMS01) von maincubes. Die voll funktionsfähige OCP-Umgebung steht im maincubes Datacenter als Demo-Anlage zur Verfügung, kann aber auch zum Testen neuer OCP Accepted™ und OCP Inspired™ Rechenzentrumsumgebungen sowie Telco-Lösungen eingesetzt werden, die für bestimmte IT-Umgebungen relevant sind.

Das European OCP Experience Center wurde ursprünglich von den Partnern Circle B, ein OCP Solutions Provider®, und Rittal, Hersteller von Infrastruktur-Lösungen für Rechenzentren, gegründet.  Im Rahmen der Partnerschaft bietet maincubes die voll funktionsfähige OCP-Umgebung. Circle B übernimmt die Rolle als Supplier, während Rittal sich um die Weiterentwicklung der Hardware kümmert.

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

CIRCLE B Logo
RITTAL Logo
maincubes logo

„Das European OCP Experience Center hat eine wichtige Rolle bei der Einführung von OCP-inspirierten Konzepten für Rechenzentren in Europa gespielt”, sagt Steve Helvie, Channel-VP für die Open Compute Project Foundation. „Ich freue mich, dass Rittal und Circle B sich für eine Partnerschaft mit einem so wichtigen, unabhängigen und europäischen Rechenzentrumsanbieter wie maincubes entschieden haben. Und ich bin überzeugt, dass diese drei Unternehmen das Wachstum von OCP in Europa weiter vorantreiben werden.“

OCP-Historie

Aufgrund stark wachsender Userzahlen und dementsprechend zunehmender Daten, startete Facebook 2009 ein Projekt zur Neugestaltung von Rechenzentren. Ein kleines Team von Ingenieuren verbrachte die nächsten zwei Jahre damit, eine neue Generation von Datacentern von Grund auf zu entwickeln und zu bauen. Sie schafften es, die Kosten in Relation zur Größe des Rechenzentrums geringstmöglich zu halten: Der Bau war um 38 Prozent energieeffizienter und der Betrieb um 24 Prozent günstiger als die bisherigen Anlagen des Unternehmens. Das Ergebnis steht nun in Prineville, Oregon.

Im Jahr 2011 machte Facebook seine Designs der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und gründete zusammen mit Intel, Rackspace, Goldman Sachs und Andy Bechtolsheim das Open Compute Project in Verbindung mit der Open Compute Project Foundation. Die fünf Gründungsmitglieder erhofften sich damit eine Bewegung zu schaffen, die im Hardwarebereich die gleiche Art von Kreativität und Zusammenarbeit hervorbringt wie bei Open-Source-Software. Die mittlerweile etablierten OCP-Prinzipien sprechen für sich.

Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, herauszufinden, welche Auswirkungen OCP-Designs auf Ihr Unternehmen haben können, registrieren Sie sich bitte für den Besuch des OCP Experience Center:

what is the open compute-project poster

©opencompute.org

An den Anfang scrollen
×Suche schließen
Suche